My First Costume

I used to sew when I was a kid.  I took classes at a local arts & crafts store called Piecemakers, and I ended up with a few dresses,  vests and pants.  You know, the usual stuff.  Then I stopped sewing for about 20 years and picked it up only last fall when I had a month off between jobs and nothing to do.  Halloween was coming up, and I wanted to wear a renaissance or medieval style dress, but I didn’t want to spend hundreds of dollars.  So I decided on a whim to make one.  I bought McCall’s 6376 because it seemed to be on the simpler side.  It took nearly a week of sewing 3-4 hours a day, because I had no clue what I was doing, and the neckline lace took nearly 2 hours of hand sewing.

McCall's 6376

McCall’s 6376

Even though it turned out gorgeously, I swore I’d never do it again…until last week, when I decided to go to the LA Renaissance Fair and didn’t feel like wearing my Halloween costume because it seemed too nice to wear to a dusty fair.  So I made a skirt (Butterick 5757) and bodice (Butterick 4669) out of linen blend fabric instead.  You can read about that one here.

Leave a comment